The strange tale of the missing dinner.

Terry and I had goose for Christmas dinner and it was wonderful. It was the first time I have ever eaten it and the gravy I made was so nice I saved what was left over for another day. Yesterday I spent the afternoon stripping the flesh that was left from the goose, which was quite a lot. I carefully trimmed off any fat and sinew and diced the meat and mixed it with the gravy and left it all to mellow for a day. Today I filled a large casserole dish and filled it with the meat. Potatoes were peeled, boiled and mashed with lashings of butter and were spread over the meat. Terry and I were looking forward to this very much . The phone rang and I turned my back for one minute. On returning to the kitchen, I discovered, to my horror, the casserole dish was empty…just a smattering of mash spread about. Hudson was wagging his tail in a lazy, satisfied way whist doing his favourite doggy grin. No prizes for guessing where our dinner finished up!

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “The strange tale of the missing dinner.

  1. But Hudson wanted some Christmas too!

  2. Pat .

    That sounded so good…
    You must have been a bit annoyed!
    Thanks for sharing.

  3. Oh Pen the little Tinker, not a lot you can do about that though. What a shame hope your Christmas was a good one .
    Best Wishes Sheila

    • penelopephoebe

      Thank you for your wishes, Sheila. Hudson is a very greedy boy and we all have to guard our food very carefully.

  4. Hiya Pen!

    In all honesty, I mean with the way you wrote about how good it was, I think I’ would’ve nicked it when your back was turned too!

    Makes me think though, if that was my Dad in your place he wouldn’t have had it and cooked the Dog to get his moneys worth! LOL! A slight exaggeration there! πŸ˜‰

    You obviously had a good Christmas, so I’ll wish you a Happy New Year and all the best! :O) x

    – Phil

  5. just stopping by to check in on old friends – ah Hudson – reminds me of the pork roast that I left on the stove top while we ate dinner – disappeared into the jaws of Bogey – live & learn! hope you’ve recovered from yr fall – I know I am very careful how I move about these days! Especially w/ no one to take care of me like yr Terry! xoxoxo Cat

  6. Hudson is a cheeky dog that’s for sure and I bet he enjoyed every mouthful πŸ™‚ Dogs are such wicked and wonderful creatures aren’t they Penny, I remember years ago a Jack Russel we had ate a whole bag of extra large Marshmallows, he was very, very, very good, he didn’t rip the paper bag and the only evidence left over were the pile of coconut crumbs πŸ™‚ lol

    Yep, that’s TWO Greedy K-9 Critters for sure πŸ™‚ lol

    HAPPY NEW YEAR PENNY πŸ™‚

    Andro xxxx

  7. You certainly should have know better. The new dog I have now I would never turn my back on her as she had to steal food for a period in her life to survive. It is so hard to be mad at them. Hey I shouldn’t eat chocolate cause I will eat it til it is gone then feel sick after. But does that ever stop me no, I have no control. So can’t blame the dogs. That meal sure did sound good though…

  8. Hiyah Pen, I was just slobbering with delight at the dish to come. What a surprise ending to an anticipated meal. Love 2yah.

Leave a Reply

