To jab or not to jab..

flu-jab

Yes, it is that time of the year when doctors send out their flu jab invites and when I spend ten seconds thinking it over before graciously declining. Despite being diabetic, arthritic and having suffered two small strokes I am generally of robust type. No sniffles or temperatures for this old gal! However, this past week has seen me in the clutches of a full blown common cold. Hacking cough, tap dripping nose, sore throat and ear infection coupled with a fevered brow, have all conspired to make me give pause to my decision. Maybe I shall gratefully accept my invitation after all.

common-cold-cartoon-498

18 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

18 responses to “To jab or not to jab..

  1. Hiya Pen!

    I’ll be getting mine, I get it every year. However, last year I caught 3 chest infections, I know they’re not the flu but surely the jab would’ve helpped me out a little bit? lol

    The only isssue, Pen, is that you’ve got a cold now so they wont give you a jab untill what you have has cleared up. You’ll have to tell them to save you some, otherwise the lot will go.

    Hope the damn clod clears up soon, Pen, they’re a pain in the arse as well as litteral pain the head! 😉

    Have a good weekend (or try the best you can)!

    – Phil x

  2. Oh Pen how awful , I myself have never had flu jab. So I won’t be having one this year either, not because you have to pay at my age though. Have a good weekend take care of yourself , suppose it’s one’s choice.
    Hugs Sheila hope you feel better very soon x

  3. Got Tigr’s all lined up (if you’ll pardon the pun Pen) It’s too big a risk for him not to have one unfortunately.

  4. I hope that you are feeling a lot better now Penny, those stinking colds are the worst kind and make us feel horrible 😦 I am not sure about the Flu jabs though, as some peeps seem to think that it adds more colds, not that I would know but it is always worth considering. Noooo not considering that one gets more colds, I mean considering taking the Flu jab, I just hope that it is in the arm and not…. Well erm 😦 lol

    Have a sniffle free weekend Penny and have some chocolate 🙂 😉

    Andro xxxx

  5. Small addendum to the above comment: We went on Tuesday to get Tigr’s jab. As she has done every year the receptionist had informed me that I didn’t personally meet the criteria for one. We walked into the surgery and the nurse said “I see you’re not booked in” I replied “No as usual your receptionist said I don’t qualify” To which the nurse replied “Nonsense” and stuck me! Tigr then got his. Pleased to say that neither of us has had any major ill effects and hopefully we’ll be looking forward to a bug free winter!

  6. Sooooo, did you have the jab or not? 🙂
    I was just wondering, besides if you did
    and are feeling well, happy and wicked
    you can call into Wombania for Wombat
    Day and eat as many chocolates as you
    like 🙂 I certainly will be 😉 lol

    Andro xxxx

  7. Well I haven’t given in yet. I did get a slight cold this past month from a visiting friend who just got off a plan. I normally never even get colds. So I figure, maybe that was it for me this winter. Seems everyone in my town right now is getting a cold. Have to wonder if that friend brought it here. Weather has not been getting sick weather. I know I have to watch cause if I do get something it wants to go to my chest right away. I will stand my ground for now. But I know some people just get it so bad. Hope you don’t have to suffer like that again.

  8. Happy Halloween Penny
    I will be sharing my toffees
    and Pumpkin Pie with you
    later, if you like? 🙂 😉

    Actually I have never tasted
    Pumpkin Pie before, but I have
    been told that it is scrumptious 🙂

    Be Good Too… Or Else? 😉 lol

    Andro xxxx

Leave a Reply

