Clean bill of health

Yesterday, I reluctantly made my way to the visit with the doctor. I had a few things to deal with there, including the removal of a couple of stitches which were the result of having a mole removed from my forehead. I also had a fasting blood test because of the constant cramps I get at night.

I was expecting the doctor to be fairly censorial  because I know I have not been as good as I could have been. I was weighed, had my blood pressure taken and quizzed at great length, regarding my lifestyle. (SMOKING!)

After the doctor had read the results of the last blood test I had, I was given the good news. My sugar levels are still improving, my cholesterol is almost perfect and my blood pressure is much better. To top it all, I have lost over a stone in weight!

It would seem I am on track apart from the ciggies. Ah well, Rome was not built in a day.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Clean bill of health

  1. Pat .

    All sounds good except for the cramps. My advice is eat lots of bananas! (They balance up your calcium and potassium or something…)

  2. Ask doctor about possibilty of Apnoea. Its very shallow breathing during sleep, sometimes one stops breathing altogether, sounds frightening but your body basically is not having that!!! and kickstarts breathing again. Investigated by doctors for me because having cramps during sleep and sometimes waking to a huge intake of breath. Don’t worry I do NOT go anywhere near the internet for medical explanation. Basically because there are so many opinions on every condition that you can choose the one you think fits. But thats the docs job!

  3. Androgoth

    Hey well done you πŸ™‚
    A stone in weight is a
    big milestone and now
    all you need to do is
    ditch the fire-sticks πŸ™‚

    Well do I sound a lot
    like your GP or what? 😦
    BUT… It is certainly a
    challenge to try out in
    the New Year 2013 and
    hey you can do it too πŸ™‚

    I am very pleased that
    you are feeling good and
    keep up the great work,
    I am hoping to lose some
    weight next year too, and
    guess what I will πŸ™‚

    Have a fun day and a
    very wicked and naughty
    evening too Penny πŸ™‚

    Andro xxx

  4. penelopephoebe

    Thanks for the words of encouragement, Andro. Hope all is well. Pen.

  5. Your doing well Pen , good idea getting rid of the ciggies not easy though.
    Wishing you well and hope you have a good Weekend.
    Sheila xx

  6. penelopephoebe

    Thanks, Sheila.Maybe I will give up the cigs after Christmas.

  7. So glad you have gotten a good bill of health for now. Yes the cigs have to go. My hubby use to have lots of cramps at night and now drinks more water and rarely has them. Wishing you and your family a very merry Christmas and Happy new year. Hugs Carrie

  8. penelopephoebe

    Thanks Carrie and I shall try drinking more water at night.

Leave a Reply

