Invasion

spider_750

So far, this month, we have captured and ejected at least ten of these terrifying creatures. I say we but of course I mean Terry, because I am very, unreasonably afraid of them and my job is to prevent 2 cats and 2 dogs from eating the horrid things.One of these monstrous arachnids was so large it would not fit under a tumbler! This is the first time I have had spiders that are-

A) not afraid of humans, pets or the light

B) so huge

C) so prolific

I wish I knew if this is an unusual occurrence for others around the country or if it is just me being victimised.

My Mother used to jump on the table and scream if she saw a spider and I am certain this affected my attitude towards them.

However, my Mother was brought up in Burma, so she, at least had an excuse for her fear.

We have a campsis radicans  growing up the front of our building and maybe this is affording the beasties a new point of entry, as the windows are always open.

Time to get pruning, I fear. Pen.

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Invasion

  1. Androgoth

    Spiders are very common at this time of the year Penny, it’s the cold that brings them in but they are harmless and to be honest if you have house spiders then you will have nothing else as they eat everything else πŸ™‚ I usually pick them up and pop them under the sink, or somewhere equally as dark, remember they are more afraid of us that we are of them, or that is how it is supposed to be πŸ™‚ lol

    Don’t put them outside or they will perish, its just too cold for them in October, maybe you could pop them in your hut or outhouse instead? πŸ™‚ I don’t mind spiders at all and my cat loves playing with them, the poor things 😦

    Hey I hope that you are getting some sunshine, here it is quite pleasant today, a little breeze blowing but it feels warm so I’m not complaining πŸ™‚ Okay Penny enough of my waffling, you have a lovely day and be good too, or else? πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚ lol

    Andro xxx

  2. Sammy doesn’t like them either so it always falls to me. I usually point them in the general direction of the outhouse although there’s the mother of all arachnids in there and I fear many of them simply become lunch for her.

  3. We get quite a few here Pen , but I usually just put them in the summerhouse or shed. They do feed on other little beasties around the house.
    Enjoy your week hope the sunshine is out for you as it’s few and far between at the mo.
    Hugs Sheila

  4. Pat .

    Spiders are fine with me normally – but those do look big! Perhaps you need to close a few windows. Good luck!

  5. Dear Pen, Good Morning/Afternoon (?)

    The drought in YVR brought out more spiders than normal, particularly household. There were these horrid black ones which seemed quite unafriad of humans. Then some large greyish ones. These were flung from the house. I do not recall such a season of invaders. Neighbours also noted the increased visibility of spiders. Not sure if related to weather or if increasing travel to/from foreign lands bringing new arachnids to this bioregion. I am like you frightened of spiders. Cannot even watch the movie Arachnid. LOL Previous experiences with spider bites resulted in mild-major infection. I am more vigilant about windows and keep door closed. I hate feeling shut in but the last monster spider indicated I add protection. Cheers to you my dear, big hug.

    • penelopephoebe

      Ugh! Your spiders sound worse than ours, Happy. I have never been bitten by one but my sister had a huge blister on her face from a spider bite once. I know they are “good guys” but they ought to remain out of sight and touch.

      • They are not all good. The one that bit me shoulda been charged with assault. I was an innocent bystander – napping.

        However, YVR weather chilled and I am hoping spiders hibernate? Or they have an expiry date.

        Big Smiles

  6. Androgoth

    Have a lovely start to your
    Friday Penny and as the weekend
    is just around the corner I hope
    that yours is a very sweet one πŸ™‚ πŸ˜‰

    Andro xxx

  7. Oh that is way to creepy. I get little spiders come in with the firewood we bring in, but nothing really scary. I remember in our house in California we use to get these spiders so big. I called them ghost spiders because you would be watching TV and just see this big shadow pass by. They were so fast you couldn’t catch them. That gave me total shivers. The worst in when you know one is in the house but don’t know where it is. Also during the season change they may suddenly show up. I hope you don’t have any more. Thanks for always stopping in. Hugs Carrie

Leave a Reply

