Turner’s paintings at The Turner Contemporary

Turner’s paintings at The Turner Contemporary

How fortunate we are, here in Margate, to have the chance to view these paintings, close up.

JMW-Turner-View-of-Minster,-Isle-of-Thanet-1784

 

JMW-Turner-A-Street-in-Margate,-Looking-Down-to-the-Harbour-1784

 

JMW-Turner–Crossing-the-Brook-1815-courtesy-Tate,-London-2011-Oil-on-canvas

 

JMW-Turner-Minster-Church,-Isle-of-Thanet–1784_compressed

JMW-Turner-Self-Portrait-circa-1790-watercolour-on-paper-Image-courtesy-National-Portrait-Gallery

JMW-Turner-St-John’s-Church,-Margate,–1784-Pen-and-ink-and-watercolour-on-paper

20 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

20 responses to “Turner’s paintings at The Turner Contemporary

  1. jennygoth

    loved the crossing the brook painting wish i had the value in my bank xxjen

  2. Beautiful Paintings Pen you where lucky to see these fpr real Smashing. Thanx for sharing. x Sheila

  3. Androgoth

    You are right about these beautiful paintings
    Penny, they are really nice and you are truly
    honoured in seeing them whebever you wish

    Thank you for adding them here for us all to
    enjoy my great friend and do have a wicked
    weekend, and hopefully without any of that
    rain and windy weather πŸ™‚

    Androgoth XXx

  4. penelopephoebe

    We are fortunate, indeed.

    • Androgoth

      Hey I hope that you are getting ready for a nice relaxing week ahead Penny, you know with just your feet up on the sofa, some really nice treats, perhaps some wine and chocolates and… Well anything you like but be good too, or else? πŸ™‚ lol

      Thank you for always calling into
      my Space and reading my Scripts πŸ™‚ πŸ˜‰

      Androgoth XXx

  5. Turner was a part of my Art education and will never forget the metaphor of the steam ship towing the sail ship into harbour, The Fighting Temeraire? was one of Nelsons Trafalgar fleet, the ghost ship of past age making its last journey assisted by the modern technology. And the great thing is.. its all there, in the picture you don’t need verbal explanation. I often see in the National.
    The show is impressive, but I think you can see portraiture was not one of his strengths.

  6. Androgoth

    Thank you for calling by today
    Penny and for being such a lovely
    friend πŸ™‚ I hope that your weekend
    is a truly wonderful one πŸ™‚

    Androgoth XXx

  7. I have to agree with Jenny. I like Crossing the Brook best. There’s something calming about it.

    Thank you for posting them.

  8. Androgoth

    Thank you for always calling into my Space for a read of my Scripts Penny πŸ™‚ I thought that with it being Halloween that you might like this gift? πŸ™‚
    http://andro51.files.wordpress.com/2011/10/halloween.png?w=1000&h=751
    Have a very nice rest of weekend and have lots of wicked Halloween fun also πŸ™‚ πŸ˜‰

    Androgoth XXx

  9. Happy Halloween, Clicked on your name from my e-mail comments update and got your google+ page and behold lots of places to find you. Thank you for your visit to my world. I see in your blogs you have many talents and interests. Thank you for sharing your love of fine art that you were lucky enough to view. I haven’t devled into the world of Google+ yet. I find it so hard to stay on top of all the new technology. Have to get some serious visiting done first. Have a wonderful week. Hugs Carrie

  10. Androgoth

    I am just calling by to have another look at your paintings and of course to thank you for always taking the time to read my Scripts, I think the next offering is going to be a nonsensical one, well we’ve had the Romantic, the Halloweeny and the usual Blood and Gore so now we need a bit of a giggle to even it all out πŸ™‚ I just hope that I can offer one with a jovial slant? πŸ™‚

    Have a lovely rest of evening now Penny and get wrapped up, I think November is going to be a tad chilly πŸ™‚

    Androgoth XXx

  11. Androgoth

    Hi Penny,

    I hope that your Tuesday has atarted off really well
    and that you have many plans for the evening also πŸ™‚
    Hey it won’t be long before you are hanging your
    stockings up for Santa Clause πŸ™‚ lol Now I wonder
    what you will be getting this year and I hope that you
    have been good too, he knows you know? πŸ™‚ lol

    Thank you for always calling by Penny πŸ™‚

    Androgoth XXx

  12. Hi Pen thank you for your comment today , just to say I loved the photo’s of your adorable Dogs Wendell and ?? oh forgot his name really Lovely. Sheila πŸ™‚

  13. penelopephoebe

    Thank you, Sheila. The other boys name is Hudson.

  14. HI PEN HOPE ALL IS WELL WITH YOU, WISHING YOU A HAPPY WEEKEND XX

Leave a Reply

