Margate Carnival

We traipsed down the road, this afternoon with two over excited dogs, ready to watch the carnival. Wendell was sent home after ten minutes for aggressive behaviour and Hudson immediately calmed down. He met quite a few dogs and thoroughly enjoyed himself.

There was a band playing in the Bandstand and a good crowd gathered to hear them play. Everyone seemed to be having fun.

The carnival went on for ages and then the batteries in my camera packed up, so we came home, to a very frustrated Wendell. I was sad not to get photos of the fair and mini circus but there is always next year.

I apologise for the quality of my snaps; I am rubbish with a camera.

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “Margate Carnival

  1. OMG! It’s been literally years since I last went to carnival! Number 1 son was four years old! Used to love to go shopping in the Northdown Road too.

    • penelopephoebe

      Funny how lines in lives cross, Sarah. I live in Cliftonville and those are my local shops.

      • Isn’t it just. Although my parents lived outside of town – towards Canterbury. I used to rent a flat from a guy in Westgate and bring the children down every summer. Dreamland was THE big event of the year as far as they were concerned. I used to send my mum a little money ever week and it would buy them advance wristbands for the last day of the holidays. The boys when they got older would go to the local newsagent when they arrived and offer to do holiday cover for their paper rounds to buy their little extras. Those were great days.

      • penelopephoebe

        @ Sarah…..happy days, eh?

  2. Robin

    Thanks for sharing these photos. Lucky with the weather.

    • penelopephoebe

      We were lucky, Robin. It looked like rain for a while but brightened up. I was pretty windy, though.

  3. Thanks for the pictures I didn’t manage to get to it this year so have taken the liberty of adding a link to your blog, to my blog.

  4. Androgoth

    You are joking? I mean about being rubbish with the Camera… Well I have enjoyed looking through all of your snaps so keep clicking away on your next outing, well while the batteries last anyway 🙂

    Actually I was just thinking about that old film called ‘Batteries Not Included’ if you haven’t seen that one yet then I reccommend it as I know that you will like that one Penny…

    Right, getting back to your lovely day out, it looks like it was an exceelent time for all, especially Hudson who seems to enjoy meeting absolutely everyone… Wendell likes to take it all in first I think? Right I am going for another look at your photographs next and then it is time for a jolly nice coffee, yes we Vampires like Nescafe you know, and a nice biscuit or three, well I do anyway 🙂 lol Of course I don’t dunk them in my coffee Penny what are you thinking about? 🙂 lol Well okay then I do, but don’t you be going off and telling everyone… Oops I just did 😉 lol

    Have a wicked week now and be good too…

    Androgoth XXx

    • penelopephoebe

      Hiya Andro. I can just see you sitting there, dunking your biscuits, LOL. I remember the film you mention. It is a good one.
      Have a great week, yourself, with the lovely Jen.

  5. Androgoth

    Excellent too, no idea what exceelent
    means but I bet it’s something naughty 😉 lol

    Androgoth XXx

  6. Fantastic day out Pen it’s a long time since I went to a Carnival . Those snaps are good don’t put yourself down , the colours are just great. It looks like Hudson just loves meeting folk and other dogs of course makes life a bit easier. Shame Wendell misbehaved though . Glad you had a fun day and the weather was good Hugs Sheila x:)

  7. penelopephoebe

    Thanks Sheila. Hudson had a great time; he just loves going out and meeting people. The carnival was great and the weather was lovely and sunny. Wendell had to have his walk afterwards.

Leave a Reply

