Charles Simic on Writing Poetry

Charles Simic on Writing Poetry

A few things to keep in mind while sitting down to write a poem:

Charles Simic

  1. Don’t tell the readers what they already know about life.
  2. Don’t assume you’re the only one in the world who suffers.
  3. Some of the greatest poems in the language are sonnets and poems not many lines longer than that, so don’t overwrite.
  4. The use of images, similes and metaphors make poems concise. Close your eyes, and let your imagination tell you what to do.
  5. Say the words you are writing aloud and let your ear decide what word comes next.
  6. What you are writing down is a draft that will need additional tinkering, perhaps many months, and even years of tinkering.
  7. Remember, a poem is a time machine you are constructing, a vehicle that will allow someone to travel in their own mind, so don’t be surprised if it takes a while to get all its engine parts properly working.
4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Charles Simic on Writing Poetry

  1. Androgoth

    Yes, indeed some very interesting ideas he has there, however personally I only take about half an hour or less (Often a lot less) to write my poems and apart from the odd tweak here and there I have usually finished whatever I am writing as I sign my copyright… I know a lot of writers have great difficulty in completing a poem or story but luckily this doesn’t apply to me…

    A very good posting Penny…

    Androgoth XXx

    • penelopephoebe

      Your work is always good, Andro, so I am amazed you can write it in half an hour…….well done. You must be very focused.

      • Androgoth

        Actually I think that I am just rather lucky in that respect, I have always written this way and never yet suffered that awful writers block that we often hear about, that must be a terrible thing to go through for any writer.

        Have a wonderful Thursday Penny and thank
        you for all of your lovely thoughts on my Scripts

        Androgoth XXx

  2. I have always thought this too. Not sure how anyone can put to pen thoughts that inspire and really touch lives in a very short time day after day.
    Loved this post

Leave a Reply

