Glass half full

For most of my life I have regarded myself as an optimist….a glass half full kind of person.  I have been known to irritate people with my cheerful disposition,especially first thing in the morning.My cheery “Good morning” always preceded me through the door , at work.  The thing is, I have noticed a shift in my attitude, just lately.  If not exactly a moaning Minnie, I have noticed a definite leaning towards pessimism and cynicism.  I am not sure if this goes hand in glove with getting older or if my daily aches and pains contribute to this change.  I found this quote on the net and am posting it to remind myself that life is how you view it as well as what you experience. 

"You can complain because roses have thorns, or you can rejoice because thorns have roses."
-Tom Wilson

pink rose

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Glass half full

  1. FATMAN

    Hey there is nothing wrong with being a moaning old Ba*tard… I’m one…

  2. penny

    @FATMAN Cheers…good to hear from you.

  3. Curiosity

    Count me in as one of the Ol’ Grumpies.Very good quote though….shows the good comes with the bad sometimes.

  4. Pat

    Most roses have thorns, but most thorns do not have roses. Wear gloves.

  5. Deb's

    G’Morning Pen, ((hugs))Just been catching up with your blogs I’ve missed, and loved your poem, "beachcomber"I’m (normally) quite cheery and class myself as optimistic – most of the time ;)), but I’ve been through phases of this half empty kinda moods too, I don’t think it hangs around long, and class it as just part of the natural ebb and flow of life and our moods.have a great weekend love n hugsdebsxXx

  6. Sheila

    Very Good quote Pen just be yourself, hope Wendells ok enjoy the weekend. xxSheila

  7. Brent

    I’ve come to think this way…Life is what it is,yet it is up to us,to make it what it might…

  8. Happy

    Sometimes the glass is actually empty? Know the feelings of leaning towards the grumbles and it is process to catch it happening before drowning. Agree aches/pains tire/weary and push towards feeling cynical. Sending hopeful thoughts that cheerfulness resurfaces, sometimes it needs a good prod. Thanks for post too because good reminder for me to watch my moods.

Leave a Reply

