My Secret Love

 

Mikhail Baryshnikov:dancer, born January 27, 1948, in Riga, Latvia "Working is living to me,” Mikhail Baryshnikov once said. He has worked hard and lived to the fullest. His name is synonymous with dance throughout the world. His dancing is a sublime vision at the dawn of a new century.  I was lucky enough to see him perform in London a few years ago and I have never forgotten the magic of that evening.  It was the best present Terry has ever given me.

Below I have quoted part of his biography and included a video tribute to him, that I found on You Tube……sigh.

"Has anyone in the field of dance ever made so much of that freedom? The generosity of Baryshnikov’s spirit embraces the world. He has danced to Adam and Tchaikovsky, but also to Dmitri Shostakovich and Philip Glass, to Duke Ellington and Frank Sinatra. He has danced to silence, and he has danced to his own heartbeat. He has been the ideal Albrecht and Prince Siegfried, but he has also stepped out in style as a paragon of jazz dancing, as a living emblem of modern and post-modern sensibilities, as a choreographer and teacher, as a company director.

He has been, and continues to be, a surprise. He embodies so many different and impossibly beautiful things to so many people that it is next to impossible to define him save to say this: Mikhail Baryshnikov is a dancer."

 

  

2 Comments

Filed under Entertainment

2 responses to “My Secret Love

  1. Curiosity

    He does look every bit the dancer, moves beautifully although he seemed to have a tormented look about him or am I wrong. I enjoyed the You Tube of him, thankyou.

  2. Happy

    The new space is gorgeous. Like I like. I remember seeing Mr. Barisnykov dance in 199x (?) and wondered prior to going what would be so amazing? Oh goodness when he danced there was nothing else to watch. What need of sets and costumes? So rare to see and experience such artistry.

Leave a Reply

