A Boy I Once Knew

I am writing this blog in response to one a friend of mine wrote, about past, “romantic” mistakes.  I have to say I don’t regret any of my previous relationships, however brief.  Parameters and dynamics change as we grow and it is all just lumped together to make us who we are.  Anyhow…I digress.  I wrote this poem a long time ago and have dredged it up for this blog.

 

A boy I once knew

Oh, I once knew a boy

Who was filled with such joy

That he made it a pleasure to live.

He’d an intricate mind

And was generous and kind

And he always had loving to give.

His lithe body was straight

And he walked with a gait

Reminiscent of cowboys of yore.

How he lived in his dreams

Where life’s not what it seems

And without him my lifestyle feels poor.

There are days when I miss

His quite decadent kiss

And his body entwining with mine.

I know I shall treasure

Each moment of pleasure

Though sadly they went into decline.

Now I’ll wander through life

Mixed with pleasure and strife,

With a special memory or two

And I’ll give a soft smile

Every once in a while

With a thought to a boy I once knew.

 

 

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “A Boy I Once Knew

  1. Sheila

    I just Love this peom Pen glad you brought it out today..smashing it does make you think xx

  2. penny

    Thank you, Sheila. I was pretty young at the time.

  3. Robin

    Great poem Penny.

  4. Unknown

    I like that Pen …

  5. Deb's

    morning Pen ((hugs))lovely poem, and took me back to my first entanglements ;))have a great day love n hugsdebsxXx

  6. GOTHIC

    Hey hun,i wonder if we all look back at one particular boy with that silly smile etched into our faces,i do lol!my ciggie giving up has joined forces with yours!my get up and go got up and left!i can see our willpower skipping off into the sunset hand in hand dnt worry their happy lol,have a great week xs

Leave a Reply

